Graybeard Outdoors banner

John Is My Heart

573 views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  land_owner 
#1 ·
by Frank Schaeffer of the Washington Post

"Beforemy son became a Marine, I never thought much about who was defending me. Now when I read of the war on terrorism or the coming conflict in Iraq, it cutsto my heart. When I see a picture of a member of our military who has beenkilled, I read his or her name very carefully. Sometimes I cry.

In 1999, when the barrel-chested Marine recruiter showed up in dress blues andbedazzled my son John, I did not stand in the way. John was headstrong,and he seemed to understand these stern, clean men with straight backs andflawless uniforms. I did not. I live in the Volvo-driving, highereducation-worshiping North Shore of Boston I write novels for a living. I havenever served in the military.

It had been hard enough sending my two older children off to Georgetown and NewYork University. John's enlisting was unexpected, so deeply unsettling. Idid not relish the prospect of answering the question, "So where is Johngoing to college?" from the parents who were itching to tell me all abouthow their son or daughter was going to Harvard. At the private highschool John attended, no other students were going into the military.

"But aren't the Marines terribly Southern?" (Says a lot aboutopen-mindedness in the Northeast) asked one perplexed mother while standingnext to me at the brunch following graduation. "What a waste, he wassuch a good student," said another parent. One parent (a professorat a nearby and rather famous university) spoke up at a school meeting andsuggested that the school should

“carefullyevaluate what went wrong."