Graybeard Outdoors banner

A little frustrated loading the Remington 223

2K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  lloyd smale 
#1 ·
I am a little frustrated by all the different loads for basically the same bullet for the .223 Remington for an AR platform rifle. I’ve been handloading for over 40 years but just starting loading the 223 Remington. In my earlier days, before the internet, all I had was my one loading manual, and that is the data I used. All the following are for Hodgdon H335 powder and a 55 grain jacketed bullet.

My new 49th addition of the Lyman Reloading Manual lists the loads for a Remington 223, 55 grain jacketed SP for H335 powder, at a minimum 24.3 and a max of 27.0 grains. OAL of 2.260.

My 17-year-old Lyman, 47th edition loading manual lists the same bullet starting at 23.0 grain and a max of 26.5 grains with a OAL of 2.260.

The newest Hornady manual for a 55 gr SP is listed as a minimum of 20.8 grains and a max of 23.2 with a OAL of 2.200.

On-line Speer lists the minimum load of 23.0 grains and a max of 25.3 grains and an OAL of 2.200.

Hodgdon, on-line lists the same load of the same bullet at 23.0 grains minimum to a max of 25.3 with the OAL of 2.2000

For the same weight bullet from Nosler they list the minimum of 23.0 and a max of 25.0 and they only list the maximum OAL of 2.260.

Sierra for basically the same weight and bullet design lists their starting load at 23.6 grains and a max of 25.7 grains and the OAL is 2.250.

This gives a spread of starting loads from 20.8 to 24.3, and a max load spread of 23.2 to 27.0 grains. To me this seems like a huge spread. Some of the max data is almost same as the starting (minimum) data from a different source. Even the OAL has a spread of 2.200 to 2.260. I loaded 30 rounds this weekend and used 24.0 grains of H335 and this would be over the max according to the Hornady manual, and yet just over the min for the new Lyman manual.