Blackhawk convertible??? - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-26-2015, 06:27 PM Thread Starter

Default Blackhawk convertible???

Any one use a ruger blackhawk convertible in 357 mag. 9 mm.???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-30-2015, 03:51 PM

Default Re: Blackhawk convertible???

Yes, I have one, a 5.5" barrel, 9mm/357. I like it, point of impact varies slightly between different loads, but it is a pleasure to shoot. It's a well made gun, like most all Rugers. It weighs a ton. What else do you want to know?
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-30-2015, 05:49 PM

I've read where a 9mm bullet will pass for a 38, but I've never tried it before. Interesting.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-30-2015, 06:15 PM

I have one that I bought new in the mid 80s. Grip to frame finish is poor and as already stated, it is hefty. That said it has a decent trigger, is very accurate in .38SP and .357 and just a bit less so with the 9mm.
GuzziJohn
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-31-2015, 05:14 PM

Bought one years ago I think during Clinton reign Thoughts were a 3 in 1. 357,38 spec and 9mm.. Nice little prepper revolver. Had it out a few times but I dont care for the grip angle. Prefer stainless double action either S&W 686 or Ruger GP100. Easier reloading and I like the grip better. Still have the BH for bad times.
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-01-2015, 11:48 AM

So what do you do when you want to change calibers, change out the cylinder?
I can see shooting an ACP round through a SA revolver because they have the ejector rod.
But the only DA I know of where you don't need the clips is the Charter Arms, unless others are starting to copy thier design. My wife has one in 40S&W, when you flop the cyl. out to eject the shells.
These little tabs fold out and catch the rims and they pop right out. Then they fold back in, a really smart set up by them.