First H&R Project - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 09:11 PM Thread Starter

Default First H&R Project

hey yall, this is my first time putting together an H&R. I did all kinds of reading on here and decided to give it a whirl, so I bought a 25-06 barrel off ebay and a SB2 frame off gun broker. Well it turns out that the frame and the barrel came from the same guy, and he told me they are matching barrel and frame. So just to be sure i got out my feeler gages and I found that if i give the gun a good firm close I can hardly pull any thickness of shim out, but if I just kind of push it shut I can pull out several thousandths of shim. The other thing I noticed was when operating the hammer or trigger it feels almost like its gummed up in there. On my factory 44 mag it has very sharp and audible clicks of the hammer and trigger, this new frame does not have the same sharpness. I was wondering if it could just be all dirty in there causing the issues. I have read all the FAQs and understand all of it, I just wanna run things by guys on here that have done this several times before I go doing anything. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Bitzer676; 04-04-2020 at 09:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 09:25 PM

Stop. Do not use an Sb1 receiver with a high pressure rifle barrel. They were never a factory set. Sb2 only for 25-06.

All of my favorite creatures have white bottoms.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 09:35 PM

Default First H&R Project

STOP!!! Listen to the advice above, you are playing with a hand grenade!!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

357 Mag camo syn stock, 30/30 cinnamon lam checkered straight grip stock, 20 ga USH camo syn stock, 20 ga Topper Jr 490 cut to 21.5" and Rem Chokes, 357 Rem Max nickel Topper 88 .410 stock.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 09:44 PM Thread Starter