Graybeard Outdoors banner

Potato bugs

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  longwinters 
#1 ·
I’ve been growing a few potatoes for probably 10 years. This is the 1st year I’m seeing potato bugs, and I live in town. How in the world did they find me? So I’m looking at how to fight them off. Any ideas?

Long

#2 ·
at some point you mentioned that you did NOT have potato bugs... THEY were listening....... That's how the leaf footed bugs found my tomatoes last year... fixed them I did NOT plant tomatoes this year... Hah showed them!!

#3 ·
I haven't had a garden in years, but I plan on one next spring.
My solution for bugs back in the day was Seven Dust held in front of a wide open leaf blower.
Do the whole garden in a few minutes.

#4 ·
As a kid, one of my chores was to go down the row of potatoes with a small stick and a can half full of kerosene and flick the bugs into the can.
That's probably why I have such a bad back today. :)
Our garden, per my dad, was one acre.
He had a Bradley two wheeled tractor that you walk behind, but he had it plowed by a team of mules in the spring.

#5 ·
What is a potato bug? I have never seen one around here! What we have is those darned Chinese beetles that look like lady bugs. They are omnivores...if a bug can be one. They eat anything and they bite you on the back of the neck if they get a chance.

Are you talking about those ugly cricket looking things with a big head?

#6 ·
They come and then they go, literally on the wind.
For about three years I had real problems now it is less and less every year.

Best control is to pick and squish right there, and I do mean right there.
Dust or liquid just does not work well enough and I have done both.
Poison kills good but but the Colorado Potato Beetles laugh at it.

A lot of Lady Bugs is the best mode to control or eradicate them.
I had a LOT, of LBs the year they peaked and one day I went out to squish the larvae and they were gone.