The audacity of faith. - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

Default The audacity of faith.

Hardships affect everyone at some time or another. As a pastor, I have seen people overcome addiction, depression, restore broken relationships and much more. Through it all, I have observed how God empowers and comforts people in their time of need. There is no mountain too high or valley too low for God. We can always turn to our faith for spiritual power and emotional strength.

Faith is the force that keeps us in the game when the odds are against us. When my colleague's mother, Pat, was 65 years old, she was diagnosed with bone cancer and was given six months to live. Although she was devastated by this news, she did not let it defeat her; she refused to give up. Pat faced her battle against cancer with faith and hope—and won. Ten years later, she was diagnosed with breast cancer. Once again, believing in the power of prayer, she experienced God's healing power. Pat overcame the odds and lived to be 96.

Having faith doesn't mean we will get all of the things we pray for or that our situation will change overnight. However, it provides us with the courage to bear challenges, endure the unexpected and embrace change. When our human strength is depleted, faith connects us to the source of power. English Anglo-Catholic writer, Evelyn Underhill, wrote, "God's power is brought into action just where our power fails."

No matter what your situation is, if you embrace your faith, things you can't imagine can and will happen. Miracles happen when you least expect it—a prayer is answered, you are offered a new job and so forth.