Grass Trimmer ??? - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 02:06 AM Thread Starter

Default Grass Trimmer ???

Ok I'm looking a new trimmers that will be used to keep the ditch and fence line up my driveway clear. The driveway is a little over 700 feet and of course it doesn't get trimmed as often as trimming around the house so the grass is heave and thick. My real question is for those of you who have trimmers with both the ring type handle and the double handlebar type. Which is better for this type use? it would seem that the handlebar type would be less tiring for trimming that long of a distance but with the shoulder harness it might restrict you distance movement away from you body.
I can get a Stihl FS56 in either configuration but I have never used the handlebar type trimmers before. My Stihl FS44 lasted me a little over 20 years so at 54 years of age I want to get this right as it might possibly be the last one I'll ever have to buy.

Bruce

Lord, Please help me
Keep my small mind open
and my big mouth shut.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 08:37 AM
Administrator

Gun Cabinet

I quit using the kinda trimmer you are talking of many years ago. I went to the DR trimmer on wheels. It uses far stronger cord and has far more power. I would never again consider the hand held type trimmers.

Bill aka the Graybeard

https://www.gboreloaded.com/forums

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

JESUS is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 10:43 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graybeard View Post
I quit using the kinda trimmer you are talking of many years ago. I went to the DR trimmer on wheels. It uses far stronger cord and has far more power. I would never again consider the hand held type trimmers.