Father and Son Mule Deer or Cow Elk Hunt in Wyoming 2016 - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 09:32 AM Thread Starter

Default Father and Son Mule Deer or Cow Elk Hunt in Wyoming 2016

I am putting together a hunting trip with my son for the 2016 season. This is something my son and I have been talking about doing for a couple of years and after a couple of false starts in 2014 and this year, finally circumstances, mainly medical and monetary, have aligned to give us a shot at pulling this off.
Neither my son or myself have been to Wyoming so if anyone is going out in 2016 and don't mind a couple of newbies tagging along....
I have done a lot of research on the draw system and think I got it somewhat figured out.
I think I would like to purchase a preference point for 2016 on mule deer and maybe elk to ensure this happens for next season, but question is where to go to ensure a resonable chance to draw and at least get a good shot at some hunhting success. Neither of us are what you would call a trophy hunter, so just getting a shot opportunity on a mule deer would be great. Cow elk for us is an opportunity to get up in some country we have never seen before and bring home some elk meat. I just don't know which region for deer. I was thinking region D and for cow elk it looks it looks like it is only about a 40% chance that we can even draw a tag in the first year.
We would even consider hiring an outfitter, but that would stretch the finances, but it is an option.
I know Jedman has a lot of good information so please jump in. You planted the idea in the first place.
Appreciate your time and reply.

Cartridges for My Entertainment: 22lr, .223 Rem, 30-06, 380 ACP, 38 spcl, 357 mag/max, , 35 Remington, 35 Whelen, 358 Norma Mag, 10mm Auto, 45 ACP. Mmmmkay what project can I do next... oh, I can't right now I am going hunting!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-27-2015, 01:38 PM

Gun Cabinet