Rimfire Hunting Handgun - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 12-30-2017, 10:18 PM Thread Starter

Default Rimfire Hunting Handgun

What's your preferred rimfire handgun for small game hunting? I'm in the mood to add another 22lr handgun to the fold, but I don't want just another plinker. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old 12-30-2017, 11:30 PM
Administrator

Gun Cabinet

If you are gonna scope it a semiauto like the Browning Buckmark or Ruger seems to be the way to go. If ya gonna use iron sights the longer the barrel the better. My favorites are a S&W 17 with 8-3/8" barrel and my Ruger Super Single Six with 9.5" barrel. I don't see much difference between my Buckmark and my Ruger MKIII with scope but the Browning has a better trigger.

Bill aka the Graybeard

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

JESUS is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!
post #3 of 56 (permalink) Old 12-31-2017, 01:56 AM

I would think your CZ Kadet conversion adequate for the task, but if it's more about adding variety, then perhaps the S&W 617 or Ruger MKIV Hunter.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 56 (permalink) Old 12-31-2017, 03:19 AM

I have a Ruger MK 2 w bull barrel 6 7/8 that has worked well for me. I put a Clark trigger in it and a stronger spring on the magazine release button. The newest - easier to clean Ruger semi might be an excellent candidate.

I've taken a number of grouse and a few rabbits, even a few red squirrels.
Note the 22 LR loses quite a bit of power in the short barrels so good hits on tougher animals is important. I lost a marmot once when I shot it with a 4 3/8 barrel 22 revolver. Had to be an upper body hit as that's all I could see. He dropped into his hole and we dying but I had nothing to reach it safely and was not going to put my hand down there.

NRA Life