Graybeard Outdoors banner

7-30 Waters Super 14 Powder Recommendations

12K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  Mule 11 
#1 ·
Hi all! I'm brand new to these forums, so please correct me if I'm posting this in the wrong place.

I recently bought a 7-30 Waters "Super 14" barrel for my G1 Contender. I'm a novice when it comes to reloading and I'm trying to select the right powder to use for this cartridge. I'm planning on shooting bullets weighing between 120 and 140 grains, probably Nosler ballistic tips, Sierra Spitzers or Hornady SSTs in this weight range. I have heard that some of the best powders for 7-30 Waters are RL-15, W748 and Varget, among others. However, I have also heard that these slower-burning powders will create excessive fireballs out of short barrels like the super 14.

Are there any faster-burning powders you would recommend, or should I stick with the recommended slower-burning ones? Thanks!

#5 ·
Thanks a lot. I had heard of Reloaders Nest, but wasn't able to access it. I didn't think of checking the web archive. This load data will definitely come in handy.

RL15 has proven to the be most accurate powder in my experience. I have not tried 4064, but have tried H322 and Varget. I typically use 120 grain bullets. I do not get the published velocities though, always slower.

I was hoping H322 would shoot well since I figured it would reduce muzzle blast, but just didn't get the accuracy I wanted.
I have heard multiple times that RL-15 is a very accurate powder in 7-30 Waters. At this point I'll probably buy a jug to give it a try, along with a faster-burning powder like IMR 3031 as suggested by Gemihur. Thanks.

#3 ·
I use the 120 Grn. Sierra pro hunter with H 4895 for my loads in the 7x30 waters and it has worked very well for me, killed my first deer years ago with that load. But we all have our favorite load others will have theirs but I never was one for barrel burner loads.

Deaconllb

Reactions: hankbrass
#4 ·