M--48 Mauser in .308/.358 Win - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2018, 07:06 PM Thread Starter

Default M--48 Mauser in .308/.358 Win

Friend is thinking of re barreling an M-48 Yugo (intermediate length) Mauser in either .308 or .358 Win. Just wondering how the 308 length rounds will function in the intermediate length magazine?

I have no experience with this. I have read about people chambering regular 30-06 length actions for the .350 Rem Mag and they worked just fine. I don't know why a slightly shorter magazine in an intermediate length mauser should be any different.

Would love to hear from people with experience on this issue. Many thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-30-2018, 07:28 PM

No experience here, but with a shorter receiver, you have a steeper angle at which the round in the box magazine has to be "pushed" up the feed ramp into the chamber of the barrel. This steep angle, plus a shorter shell round (.304 Win), may cause the nose of the round to tip upward, catching at the top of the chamber mouth.'

Very experienced gunsmiths probably know how to deal with or fix this, but I wouldn't try to do it myself.

Something to think about.

Mannyrock
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 09:33 AM

The rebarrel work is pretty straight forward. Go to ER Shaws website. They still do some mauser sporterizing at reasonable prices.

Are you or is the friend going to do the work?

Mannyrock is right the challenge will be the feeding of the cartridges from the mag into the chamber. You might get lucky and have no issues or it may be a royal pain. I am currently doing a M95 mauser conversion from 7x57 to 35 Remington and feeding the rounds from the mag to the chamber is not as smooth as I had hoped. I am working in it.

ER Shaw may get it to work better if you buy the barrel and have them do the work. I don't know that for sure, but it may be worth the call.