AR-15 Reloading question - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 09:15 PM Thread Starter

Default AR-15 Reloading question

I have been reloading for my AR-15's for a few years now. I recently built a 224 Valkyrie with a 24" barrel. I have decided I would like to do some precision reloading for it and try to make it as accurate as it can be. I have been watching some videos on Youtube on precision reloading. I have gone as far as buy the Hornady O.A.L gauge and the comparator, I also bought the cartridge headspace bushings. When I have reloaded for all my Ar's in the past I full length resized all of my brass. The videos I have been watching I think are mainly for bolt action rifles and they say that after the case has bee fire formed in the chamber of the rifle that they only bump the shoulder back on the case .002 or .003 to allow it just enough room to chamber without any problems. Am I correct in understanding that the case is still being full length resized but they are sizing it as little as possible an just barely bumping the shoulder back? This should be ok to do for my AR-15 correct? Like I said I have always set the full length sizing up like the instructions say that come with the die and have never had problem getting a round to chamber and I don't want to have a problem now. That is why I am asking. Thanks in advance Dale

The quality of a mans life is in direct proportion to his commitment to excellence.

A bad day at the range is better than a good day at work!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 11:00 PM
Administrator

Gun Cabinet

Well welcome back from the dead Dale.

In my opinion no you shouldn't be trying to partially size for an AR. Some folks use a neck size only die and some try to adjust for less than full sizing using a regular sizer die. That's fine for bolt action rifles but not so fine with ARs.