Does PP Help Keep Accuracy at Jacketed Velocities? - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-09-2015, 11:09 PM Thread Starter

Default Does PP Help Keep Accuracy at Jacketed Velocities?

I've often read PP allows us to push cast bullets at jacketed velocities... but another theory says the rotational rate of the rifling, when it causes the bullet to spin above 140,000 rpm causes shotgun like patterns.

So who's right?

Or are both right? Does a PP somehow allow us to get past the rpm problem?

I'll admit, I can't see how, but I'm no expert, and haven't tried it yet.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-04-2016, 09:43 PM

Default Re: Does PP Help Keep Accuracy at Jacketed Velocities?

The short answer - yes.

Even in rifles as difficult to work with as the '96 Mauser, PP allows me to equal military ball ammo ballistics.

I still don't know for sure why it works, but it does. Takes a while to learn how to get it to work well though. Makes for a fun hobby.

The most important aspect of this signature line is that you don't realize it doesn't say anything significant until you are just about done reading it & then it is too late to stop reading it....
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 07:54 AM

Patching itself doesn't let you exceed 2,100 +/- fps, the alloy does. Linotype will allow faster velocities than will a pure or nearly pure lead bullet before it self destructs. Patching falls off as soon as the bullet leaves the barrel and serves two purposes, neither of which permits greater muzzle velocity.
1. Prevents the bullet from contacting the barrel, thus eliminating leading
2. Allows an undersized bullet to fit the barrel snugly which in turn, increases accuracy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-04-2016, 03:21 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobade
The short answer - yes.