Help Needed With Mounts for Rem 700 - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 02:44 PM Thread Starter

Default Help Needed With Mounts for Rem 700

Guess I'm getting old and fuzzy, but am stumped and need some help... I am trying to mount a 30mm Konus or a 30mm Weaver with a 50mm objective on my Rem 700 Mountain rifle.. I have used the reg Rem Bases 36 on rear and 35 on front. used Dead Nutz rings(not sure of height)

My problem is that I do not have enough adjustment in the elevation to bring the poi down to get closer than 5 inches high at 100yds... can someone please help stear me in the right direction... There appears to be about a 1/4" clearance between the objective bell and the barrel.
I previously had no problems with scopes mounted that had 1"tubes and 40mm objectives.

I have no experience with shimming or z-rings so I have not tried that... hope to get something that doesn't require that.

Thanks for looking, hope you can help me.

TheMoose
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 05:03 PM

If neither scope gives you enough adjustment, I'd say your rings are too high.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 07:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennsyltuckymoose View Post
Guess I'm getting old and fuzzy, but am stumped and need some help... I am trying to mount a 30mm Konus or a 30mm Weaver with a 50mm objective on my Rem 700 Mountain rifle.. I have used the reg Rem Bases 36 on rear and 35 on front. used Dead Nutz rings(not sure of height)
TheMoose
Moose. Is this the 1st time your Mtn Rifle has been scoped? Did I interpret correctly that you tried two different scopes?

Swapping the rings front to back won’t hurt but that shouldn’t make a difference unless they have a built in MOA.

Burris XTR Signature rings have cured a lot of alignment issues. Greatest invention since smokeless powder.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 07:36 PM