Graybeard Outdoors banner

I'm done with springers.

6K views 19 replies 14 participants last post by  peltel2 
#1 ·
I have been fighting a gas piston springer for 2 years. I finally got it to group halfway decent a while back. Now it is back to shooting random groups. My Benjamin 392's will shoot circles around it.

#2 ·
Ive 'returned' to traditional springers (again) and the 'artillery hold' has done wonders for the higher velo, twangy 'Beeman RS2' that has given me some fits (and eats scopes so Im using just open sights).
http://www.pyramydair.com/article/The_artillery_hold_June_2009/63
My earlier RWS 45 is better with that hold too but the softer shooting old ones dont seem to care.
All in all, after having a rather high end RWS 75T01 (recoil-less match rifle) side lever and a cheap Chinese sidelever I determined that for me I just like the relative simplicity of a break barrel springer. I could go for an underlever too, the sidelever is just awkward for me.
I wont get a PCP, I really like an airgun that runs easy at 650-700ish fps and dont want or need the expensive complexity of them. I would shoot one if a friend bought one though :tango_face_wink:.
And if I need to pop a yard varmint I have a 22RF sighted in for CB's and a 410 (I live in the country and can still shoot a real firearm; Thank GOD and the Founding Fathers).

#3 ·
I can still shoot firearms here, but I prefer the air rifles because the pellets don't carry as far. I do like the simplicity of the springers, but dislike their quirks. I pulled it out today to adjust me my scope for a closer range and was shooting patterns again as opposed to groups. I think I am going to buy a PCP sometime this year. For now I'll stick to my pneumatic pumpers. They are consistent and predictable.

#7 ·
I like both springers and pumpers.
I have a couple of low power springers that are super accurate and easy to shoot.