Graybeard Outdoors banner

First Golf Ball design for me

4K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  double d 
#1 ·
I am usually on the weaponsguild forum, but a couple members recommended I check my thoughts with you fine folk. So here I am.

Background: I am a welder by trade and have been manufacturing roller coaster parts for a major theme park here in Orlando for about 20 years. We perform repairs as well as manufacture new components out of steel, stainless, aluminum, and various alloys. We must be certified by AWS for any material or position we weld. I have an AS degree in Welding Technology and have been a shop foreman for quite a while. I am also in the Florida Army National Guard where I turn wrenches on Blackhawk and Chinook helicopters. I have built a lot of firearms from parts kits and in the process have fabricated numerous items from scratch. So far I've built all semi-auto (I like to stay completely on the good side of ATF) versions of Uzi's, STEN MK 2, 3, &5, H&K MP5, MP5K, MP5SD, G3, and 93, Yugoslav M53 (copy of German MG42), and am working on a Finnish KP44 now. I have also made a couple of Form 1 Suppressors. I have a Lathe, milling machine, Mig welder, Stick/Tig welder, parkerizing set up, and an oven for Cerakote/powder coating.

I am not a novice, but wouldn't call myself a pro either.

I would like to venture into the world of black powder cannons and think that golf ball artillery would be a good start. I have been looking through the posts here and think I have come up with a relatively safe design, but please let me know if you see anything that doesn't look right with my design. I took the dimensions for the powder pocket in the breech plug from the KISS golf ball mortar. I would like to make a one barrel that could be either used as an infantry style mortar, or put on a small carriage to look kind of like a scaled down towed howitzer. Please forgive my crude Paint drawings.

Does this look reasonable? Safe?

Attachments