The Sense of Evil. - Graybeard Outdoors

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 261 (permalink) Old 09-25-2007, 05:17 PM Thread Starter

Default The Sense of Evil.

While reading my favorite forum (unusual stories), I came across a thread by Echo4Lima, titled “What was it?” Fascinating thread.

His discussion of the sixth sense is one we should expand upon.

In writing my book on safety topics, I discuss this sense, giving examples from experts in several fields who recount personal stories of being saved by the “sudden sense of danger”. (Jim Corbett, numerous military vets, personal experiences, etc.)

One of my own experiences was during a different kind of hunting. (It was in the “outdoors”, so I’m going to go ahead and post it; I hope you’ll forgive me.) I was a Dallas Police Officer, training a new officer. He was much older than I, in fact, he’d been an Army Ranger during Vietnam, when I was only a child. Very level-headed, mature, and cool, as you’d expect.

We were sent to a “missing neighbor” call. Nobody’s seen the folks next door for a week. Papers on the grass, etc. Maybe dead inside, maybe gone and forgot to cancel delivery, who knows? It was about noon, in the middle of the summer. Not an intense call, and we’re very relaxed about it.