Graybeard Outdoors banner

Cast question

2K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  res45 
#1 ·
I've been reloading cast bullets in handguns for a few years with good results and have started to expand into rifles. I bought 500 Missouri Bullet TEK coated 165 grain bullets for use in my Winchester 94 30-30. I have the newest Lyman manual and the best powders I had in my stock were IMR 3031 and IMR 4198. I loaded up a bunch of 3031 increasing by 1/2 grains and had terrible results. Velocities seemed way high to me and accuracy was pathetic. I stopped at 24.5 grains. Today I tried 4198. Accuracy wasn't too bad with 19 grains and velocity was about 1632. I moved up to 20 grains and 1763fps and accuracy went out the window. I did notice when seating the bullets I'm shaving lead off at the case mouth. Could this be the cause of such poor accuracy? I started chamfering all my cases and the shaving went away. I have a bunch loaded with 19grains of 4198 that a chamfered and I'll try them tomorrow. I would have liked to get to 1800fps or so. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

#2 ·
The common "rule of practice" with cast bullets is to slug the rifle bore, measure the inside bore diameter (slug top of land to top of land), choose sized and lubed bullets 0.001" to 0.002" larger than the bore diameter, BHN 12-15 (Missouri = 15), and don't expect to drive them "jacketed bullet fast" (which you are not).

Your powder induced barrel harmonics affect bullet accuracy at the muzzle and target. You might be better served with one of the other powder choices (say IMR 4227 or Win 748). Trying all of the powders listed is not practical, but trying four or five is better, and in the long run less expensive, than giving up.

ACCURACY from a bullet that is driven within the range of the powder manufacturer's published data is what you want (lower in their range, imho, if you are going to shoot that rifle a lot and for a long time). Speed is not the end game - accuracy is.