Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
702 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Contender folks, several years back I did a comprehensive 22 LR ammo tests in all of my rim fires trying to determine the best ammo. Has anyone here done that with their Contender? If so is there a preferred ammo in .22LR for the Contender.
When I did this test years back, I was getting match grade ammo for 4$ a box. :tango_face_surprise
Not any more! These kinds of test I can no longer afford. :( Times have changed.

I appreciate any guidance in this ammo search.

·
Registered
135 Posts
I recently acquired a TC 10" 22RF barrel with match chamber, took it to the range for its first function test with my "junk" bag of various RF ammo. I just grabbed a partial box of Federal Target "auto" in the white 525 size box, out first for a function test. That barrel actually shot this ammo pretty darn good IMO. Now, I'm new to the contender game, so take this for what it's worth, but at 25 yds (just stepped off the distance) and using 1" orange dots for targets on a cardboard box I pulled out of the dumpster from a wobbly bench on a couple makeshift bags, I was able to keep the majority of the shots in the 1" dot. I do have a 2-7x scope mounted on this and the TC forearm that doesn't ride a bag very well due to the slope. I shot the remainder of this box (50-75 rds) as I was so surprised at the accuracy this ammo, so now I have to find some more of it and hope it's as good. Also need to get a better forearm for it to see what it can do.

·
Registered
107 Posts
I have had excellent accuracy (1/2" @ 50 yards) using Winchester T-22 rounds in my 10" bull barrel Contender with 2.5-7X scope from the bench. PMC 40 grain solids also shoot very well and are cheaper.

·
Registered
702 Posts
Discussion Starter #4