Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys I found a nice S&W 686 with a 6" barrel and I like it! I have honestly never fooled with a .357, only shot one 4-5 times always with no ear plugs and it just turned me off. I was dumber then. This will be a stupid question to a lot of you, but would the .357 loaded with the 180 Nosler's work for deer and hogs? I don't use a pistol a lot, but I do like having one. I have a Ruger Blackhawk .41 Magnum 4 5/8" it shoots great but I am intrigued by the .357 mainly because I don't own one.

Thanks!

·
Registered
421 Posts
I have no experience with the 180 grain Nosler bullet but I have killed several hogs (most 200 lbs or less) and a couple of deer with a 357 magnum handgun. Most were shot with a 4" Ruger Security Six revolver some were shot with a 4" S&W 686. The load most of them were shot with was 158 grain JHP although some were shot with 125 hollow points. Few were shot farther than 25 yards away. I was not hunting with the handgun but rather taking advantage of targets of opportunity when I was out and about. I had no complaints with the performance of either gun or load on deer or hogs. The 6" gun should give slightly better performance. I only took good shots,(broadside or head shots). I wouldn't hesitate to meat hunt with the 357 where the shots would be close and I could wait for the right angle. I don't know that I would carry it "horn hunting" where I might only get one opportunity during the season but if you are willing to pass less than ideal shots it should work for that to.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Works great on javelina, rattlesnakes and cans. 158 gr jhp is preferred.

Anything with teeth or an attitude, I have begun to carry a 44 Magnum. I really don't want to be bear bait or cat chow.

·
Registered
81 Posts