Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 9 of 21 Posts

· Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
AKA 10mm.

Project I've been working on for a few months. Had a bit of time to go to the range this morning and was bore sighting the carbine. Still need to put a new butt pad on her and make a grip cap for it. 18" barrel with an attempt to match the electroless nickel platting with an epoxy based spray. Was a standard stock that received a strip, carving and refinish. Originally intended to go with more of the pepper look, but decided to go with a darker brown dye.

Air gun Wood Trigger Shotgun Gun barrel

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

· Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
As for the "gap' I used fresh o-rings and lots of epoxy. I talked with a couple of gunsmith friends and they said that they didn't think that trying to make a steel spacer to take up the gap would be of much benefit over the o-rings once the epoxy set.

Initial range testing yesterday showed promise. I put two bullets through the same hole shooting off-hand with just being bore sighted. All the others (10) were within 2moa at 25 yards. Intention is an up to 75 yard general purpose carbine, even up to small Texas deer without the recoil of a 45-70/450 Bushmaster.

I hope to actually sight it it today. I was also testing out a Stevens 418 22LR and an 18" barrel H&R 9mm carbine that I've also been working on. The 9mm is a true turn down permanent liner into a 20 gauge Topper 88 barrel from a Green Mountain blank. The 9mm is really for my daughter, but it shows to be fun too with great promise! I may have to out another one together just for me. The allure of cheap ammo is hard to ignore.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

· Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
As for paint I used stainless appliance epoxy. I had some Alumuhide 2, but the appliance epoxy was closer in color. I'll look into the suggestion.