Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting on this website but I hear it's the best place to find answers how about the Handi rifle so I figured I'd give it a whirl

My Dad recently gave me a Handi rifle chambered in 4570, since I live in Ohio I can use it to legally hunt deer, I tried to get it sighted in with the weaver mount he had installed and an a1 fixed 4 power cheap o scope.......i get any where from 2 to 4 inch groups of bags at 100 yards...... Which would be fine but sometimes it groups 2 inches high, sometimes 2 inches low left etc........ So I started investigating and found the weaver mount, though tight, allows some play if you pull up and down on scope, not much, but if u pull with some force you can get it to move up and down about 1/16 to 1/8......

So I thought maybe shift is the scope, and I replaced it with a Vortex 3 by 9 Crossfire 2,...... Well that was way worse! Poi would walk off target low and right, no matter how much I would adjust it, it would keep walking down and right......

So I put cheap 4x back on...... Tried shooting 325 ftx leverevolution and federal 300 grain fusion.... the Hornady shoots better but still have the shifting POI problem