Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,540 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been asking questions about loading a Philadelphia derringer
IMG_1153.JPG
I own on here and now wondering about manufacture of this gunl.
Bore is smooth, and measures .399 with dial caliper. I'll try and post some pictures of it and hope the pros on here can answer some questions for me, please. No stampings at all, no name, numbers not a hint?
IMG_1153.JPG
IMG_1154.JPG
IMG_1153.JPG
IMG_1154.JPG
IMG_1153.JPG
IMG_1154.JPG
IMG_1156.JPG
IMG_1157.JPG

·
Registered
85 Posts
I'm not an expert.
I Googled ".40 caliber percussion derringer" and clicked images to see if it matched any examples that appear in the search results.
A person can find 1000's of photo results, but I'm not going that far.
Virtually every example has some kind of stamping or engraving on it, and some are obviously older than others.
Most all of them have some kind of checkering on the grip, will say Philadelphia Derringer whether it's an original or not.
The age of yours is unknown,
It has bluing.
We don't know if the threads are metric or American.
We don't know if there's any markings under the barrel.
We don't know if there's any markings on the back of the lock.
We don't know if the gun was built from a kit or by a gun smithing company.
The stock looks unblemished.
They did not embellish it very much and the lack of identification would seem to indicate that the maker didn't want you to know who made it unless they left hidden markings.
There could be initials or at least the name of the maker of the lock behind the lockplate..
Some expert may be able to identify the lock if ithey;ve seen it in a book or in person.
It begins with trying to find out how old it is.
I don't have a clue, do you?
I searched a gun maker's forum and came up with a post by someone who built a derringer "kit" and posted this about it.