Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
if this is the rite place to post, i'd like to begin a project... building a wildcat ...i have never done this before an could use lots of advice.. i have a 700 remington receiver 243/308 bolt face an would like to build something in the area of 25/308 AI for target an varmit even 'maybe' deer... where to start ? maybe with a barrel maker or a gun smith..? as for my first thoughts i'd like it to be a heavy barrel of a sort, maybe a fast twist like 1-8 or 9, to carry a heavy bullet like 117-120gr. or more... with the 308 case being blown out to Ackley or like shoulder, it will probably get a shorter neck in the process of reforming, so the throat should not be to long.. is what i have thought about so far .. but where/how to start the project

also searching around i've found a place to get dies for a 25souper.. wondering if its possible to have these dies cut to match the said AI chamber,... i guess you'd have to fire forming the cases before hand?
i guess i would have to cut both fl an the neck sizer ?

so much to think about.. maybe some of you have gone threw the process
any recommendations on smittys, barrels or whatever.. any input would be a help
Thanks...

·
Registered
3,168 Posts