Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to get involved in black powder cannons. Specifically I would like to buy a scaled down barrel and build a carriage for it. I value historical accuracy and the build process, but I don't have an excess of time to build something like a field carriage (I have 3 young kids and perhaps a naval carriage would be more manageable). my primary interest is in learning about cannons, while enjoying shooting. I have access to a stellar private black powder range in Des Moines, IA. I have a lot of black powder experience and have read nearly every post on this forum, but I still don't know where to put my money.

I started down the rabbit hole with Coaches Club Cannons, but heed to the warnings brought up by folks on this post. The tensile strength of modern steels is astounding, but I believe I would like something safer.

1" bore seems reasonable to a single Cannoneer, though I can't shake the feeling I want to go a bit bigger. I was nearly set on buying a Brooks 24 pounder and building a naval carriage, but the tube seems too short. As stated above my purpose is to learn about cannons and shoot. I want something that is long enough for a full burn and something I can really peg targets with down range. I have 50 years of lead in a hillside to cast.

I would like to stay around $1000.00 dollars all said and done with barrel, carriage construction, implements, ball mold and powder (if possible). I can forge and build a carriage and implements on the cheap. The last time I bought powder (for a competition flintlock build), it was $200.00 bucks for 5 lbs because of hazmat shipping.

So, in summary, what should I purchase that will satisfy #1 - safety, economy, time, build, accuracy, and beginner cannon itch? Does anyone have something for sale?

I prefer phone conversations, if someone has an interest in helping.

-J

·
Registered
732 Posts