Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys! i have a bushmaster 223 which i really enjoy shooting and is accurate beyond belief with the open sights it is equipped with. anyway my question is that when i clean it if it isnt just dripping with oil (i use marvel mystery oil} it doesnt seem to feed correctly. is this a common prob or am i doing something wrong? i was raised in the school of clean lighly oiled gun {have no mil training}. havent had it long would love to make it reliable in light of current world events. lol anyway any replies from people of experience with this gun would be appreciated! thanks guys, hill boy.

·
Registered
64 Posts
No your BUSHMASTER should feed dry, it should not be dripping with oil,2 things should be addressed here the first is Magizine quality,try and stay away from aftermarket mags such as USA brand the cheaper mags always lead to feeding problems.
Stay with military contact brands new or used.

Next consider having the barrel THROATED & POLISHED, M-4 style this a common practice in my shop for reliable feeding of all brands of ammo, combined with quality magizines this makes for smooth feeding weapon.

RON KONTOWSKY
ACTIONS BY R.A.K.
DEANS GUNSHOP II
http://www.deansgunshop.com

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
Hear, Hear!

I heartily second Ron's statement to inspect your magazines and use only high quality ones.

I've supported US and Canadian small arms workshops, and the most common end user complaints were the magazines.

The weakest point in the excellent M16 series is the cheaply made magazines. The aluminum tube body is easily dented or crushed, the followers tend to stick, and the feed lips are subject to wear and deformation. Bent floorplates tend to fall off during firing. The NATO standard magazines as made by the British, Belgians, Italians, and (heaven forbid) the French, are much better.