Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to this forum. My name is Tom, I hail from Beaverton, OR, and I have a love of cannons. Up until a month ago, I had a small golf ball cannon, "naval" style, made of some thick pipe and 4x4 beams. I had that little guy since 2001, but now I think it's time to go full-size.

First, to quell any suspicion that I am a complete novice, I HAVE HAD re-enacting experience in Civil War artillery batteries. About 2 year's worth, so 8 re-enactments. What I am here for is to obtain advice and tips from the community on creating a cannon on a budget. I have $1,200 for the entire project, and obviously I'd love to not spend all that cash on a cannon. Furthermore, I am a history nut, and I have a great respect for the power and inherent danger that black powder represents; cannons are no joke, nor fun 'range toy', and I understand that. With that in mind, let's proceed to the project:

First, does anyone out there have any original blueprints? My machinist is asking me for blueprints, and I'd really prefer to go off of professional plans. Be they original historical designs or your own style, please send them my way! This is my very first full-scale gun, so the lighter the better. I only need barrel designs; I have enough experience with wood to make my own naval carriage.

I really do like naval guns, so something like this style would be cool, if anyone has blueprints of something similar. I will of course have a beefier carriage:

http://www.kansascannonworks.com/how17.gif

Second, what is the best type of steel? My machinist has many different types, all in the right size and all in my budget. He has 4140, 4150, 1018, etc.

... I realized here that the rest of my questions are quite dependent on the specific blueprints that are offered by the community.

Naval guns are my favorite but I'd honestly love to see just about any cannon blueprint.

·