Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So...I am new to the Encore world, had Contender's for years and fully understand the different types of barrels, frames, etc. The Encore barrels have me a bit more intrigued!

I see there was 24" blued and stainless barrels, made, then 26" Weathershield barrels, then 28" blued and stainless "pro hunter" barrels made.

I also see people comment standard contour and heavy contour

so my questions are as follows:

1. Is there a list to show (at the peak of the availability) what 24" barrels were made in Stainless from the factory?

2. What is the difference between Weathershield and Stainless? Is there any color difference between the two?

3. I understand the muzzleloader and shotgun barrels take a different forearm, but is the same forearm used for the standard 24" barrels, Weathershield barrels and Prohunter barrels?

4. What is the difference between the standard and heavy contour barrels? Are all factory barrels standard contour?

5. In looking at the aftermarket barrels such as MGM, EABCO, SSK, is there anything concerning forearms to be concerned about?

I would really appreciate the forum's input and answers on this!

·
Premium Member
5,143 Posts