Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shotting for a few years but just got into hunting this year and took my first deer over the weekend. I'm hooked!! :) However, I found out really fast the importance of a good hunting knife. I was wondering what everyone uses when they're field dressing. I dressed this one with a folding lock blade Gerber, 3" serated blade...NOT the best knife to use. I got the job done but didn't like it at all.

What should I look for in a good hunting / dressing knife? I know I can't go cheap. Do you guys use folding lock blade, fixed blade, drop point, clip point, serated, etc?? Brands?

·
Registered
3,161 Posts
Well I must say in the beginning my last name means KNIFE in German so with that said I have lots of Messers, My favorite fixed blade is a signed Kershaw 3.5 in. blade and my favorite folder is a U.S. Manu. in Portland Or. Gerber, I have always liked the Older Pumas hunter friend hunter pals and have them and would carry either one if not hunting here on the place, but they have gone up so much in value I just keep them in the Knife safe. JIM

·
Premium Member
886 Posts
I have a Schrade Sharp Finger that I got for my 13 Birthday 37 years ago. Have tried many many knives and never found one better.

alan

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Hi There,

With practice just about knife will work however some blade shapes are better than others. I prefer drop points rather than clip points but I have both for general work. I also brought a dedicated skinner and that's what it's kept for. here are the ones I use:-

Boker Arbolito with 440C blade was my first brought fixed blade knife.

Buck Crosslock the Gut hook is very useful and it's on my belt when I hunt a friend gave me this one and that was before I brought the Boker.

Boker Treebrand stag handled drop point which lives in my knife pocket of my Hunting trousers (pants). Always fancied a Stag Horn Handled knife.