Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
908 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone know what makes these things kick out for no good reason? I tried to put one on an outlet circuit in the basement kitchen and do it according to code like a good boy. Anything I plugged in to it tripped it. Finally I got fed up with the outlet type, and just put one in at the breaker box. Well great! I plugged in a fan and it ran. Then I plugged in a drill along with the fan and it tripped. Today I spent yet another day out of my life at cutting half the outlets off and putting them on another circuit. Then went outside with a grass whip and took out my frustrations on some weeds. Haven't tried the gfci circuit yet, but if tomorrow is a repeat of past adventures, I'll skip the code. And I still have the bathroom heater to contend with.
Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
3,554 Posts
My guess is you have a wiring or panel problem. I am not an electrician but I know the GFI is supposed to trip when it encounters uneven current between the hot and neutral wires. Call a pro, and sleep better.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Sometimes it is just that particular GFCI breaker/outlet itself. A cheap test is to replace that GFCI outlet or breaker and see if behaves or not. Some are overly sensitive.

·
Registered
908 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So far, the outlet GFI is working ok on it's half of kitchen outlets. The one in the breaker box is acting better now too. According to the guys who do this for a living, GFI circuits work best the fewer outlets they monitor. So cutting the circuit in half gives each half four instead of eight. Apparently eight is too many. Live and learn. Had the same trouble 40 years ago when it was originally wired. And there were probably twice that many outlets. So I took the GFI breakers out. Everything worked great till the fire! (It was the toaster).