Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever used powdered metals or other powdered materials for cores or partial cores? If so: what did you use, How did you use it, what was the effects you were after, and what type of results did you get?

Donna :wink:

·
Registered
7,581 Posts
I have several vintage boxes of .30-06 frangible ball rounds. I think there probably more valuable now as collectors items. If I remember right they were used for anti-aircraft practice so as not to overly endanger the pilots dragging the targets behind them through the sky.

Donna - You're probably THE expert in this area. What do you think of stopping power of a round that is made from powdered materials? (Looking a such a round for defensive purposes in occupied buildings.)

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cat Whisperer and all, :D

Even though it is flattering to my ego, I am not an expert in anything just a person that has a great passion for lots of certain subjects. I believe in this definition of an expert very strongly and that is:

An expert:
Pert is a drip under pressure.
Ex (X) is an unknown variable.
Therefore an expert is an “Unknown Drip Under Pressure”.

It depends on just how the bullet is constructed, are you using a solid jacket and a powder core or an all powder jacket and core, of what powdered materials is the jacket and/or core is made from, and how is the powder materials bonded together. I tried making a lead shot hollow point core bullet that had the lead passed the jacket. Well the exposed lead just crumbled with any force applied to it. I had to have the jacket totally surrounding the lead shot core to protect the core, in this case.