Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am the proud new owner of an S&W Model 29-2, 6 1/2" bbl, and a Marlin 1894 rifle, both in 44 Mag. I have no personal experience with this cartridge. I have been shooting .357 mags for years. I prefer to use one bullet type and weight per caliber since it simplifies my life. I know some of you think that is not much fun, but it is how I am. I prefer to load a round that can be used in both weapons. These will probably be used for deer and feral hog sized critters. Do you like a 180 grain or a 240 grain bullet. I don't intend (at this point) to use lead bullets. Is a jacketed hollowpoint or a jacketed softpoint better? I know there are lots of different types of bullets. I want one that is not designed to be easily deformed. For that reason, I tend to like jacketed softpoints better than hollowpoints. I don't mind some bullet expansion, but want to make certain that penetration is sufficient.

Thanks for any advice you can give based on your own experiences.

·
Registered
120 Posts
If hogs are on the menu, forget the 180 grain bullet. The 240 in a hollow point for hogs is marginal. The gristle plate protecting it's vitals is notoriously tough. Your best bet is a heavy for caliber projectile, preferably hard cast with a large flat nose, although the heaver soft points will work. You'd be better off with a 300 gr Jacketed Soft Point if you don't want to shoot cast bullets.

Asking one bullet to do so many jobs really limits yourself. Yes it is simple, but if you only go with one, I'd use a 300 gr Soft Point. Won't be much fun to plink with that model 29 though.

Why limit yourself to jacketed bullets only? You can get 240 grain semi wadcutters for real cheap practice. 8-10 grains Unique for a real mild plinker. You don't say what your experience level is, but the light loads are a good way to work your way up in recoil levels.