Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always wanted a cannon and recently built my own. I did enough research to believe I've done a good job with design and construction. I'm a professional mechanic, experienced fabricator/welder and have been shooting conventional firearms for many years.
I decided on a 2 1/4 inch bore because I have a good supply of billiard balls and found an 18 inch piece of seamless 3/4 wall tube in that size. I had my local machine shop build me a powder chamber/breach plug that I press fit and welded. I copied the powder chamber design from coaches club and did some testing to ensure it could hold 2 1/2 ounces of powder and some wad.
I appreciate any one who's still reading.
I've never seen a cannon fired besides a few blank rounds at reenactments. I've scoured YouTube and found it lacking on any real info. My actual question is what kind of trajectory and accuracy can I expect? With about a foot of barrel left after the plug, coaches club says they saw 1100 fps from a very similar design. Any info, suggestions, tips, things to avoid appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,547 Posts
What is your wall thickness? 3/4"? Or does your chamber have a reduced inside diameter? The reason I ask is that widely accepted safety standards require wall thickness over & behind the chamber be equal to the bore diameter. So a cannon with a 2.25" bore should have an OD of 6.75. With a reduced chamber like a mortar or howitzer... say 1.5"... would have an OD of 4.5". You cannon could be built up further over the chamber like Parrots were.
Links to these recommended standards by National Cannon firing organizations are linked in our stickies: http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/blackp...ruction-new-cannon-builders-design-standards/
We take cannon safety very seriously. Accidents threaten the hobby we all love.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·