Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,
I have been looking into reloading for a while now and was wondering what components would be good to start off with? I'm new to this but my dad has done a bit of reloading and we have a rcbs rockchucker press and pretty much everything else. But as far as powder and bullets etc. what should I get. Mainly I'll be after coyotes, lookin to make a few bucks there. And maybe black bear although I intend on doing that with a bow.
Anyways, the barnes varminators look to be a **** of a deal at 40 bucks for 250 rounds. I was thinking the 72 grain ones would be pretty good. Or should I maybe go for the 58 grain ones? As far as powders go I'm kind of clueless. Some buddies of mine have given me some brass and my dad's got lots of primers in all sizes (he found a huge box of em at a garage sale a while ago).

Thanks

·
Premium Member
526 Posts
Misterguy, i used imr 3031 a little bit and I beleive it was 4350 that shot real good with a sierra 70 gr bull. I dont have my load data with me right now(its at my buddys house) But i will try to get over there to check and get back to you on that. If i was to get one or the other i would get them 72 grners I have heard that the 55 gr. hornadys didnt shoot well in other rifles. I was bout ready to try em in mine and got maybe 5 shots off and noticed that the breach face had a crack in it. so... while it sits at home, i continue to nag my dad into taking to the post office. prob is i will probley end up bringing it up here and sending it off on my own. :-[ But anyways. I'm sure that some others on here will contribute some excelent loads!
Hank.

·
Premium Member
415 Posts