Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read that the Remingotn 788 had a bad propensity for bolt handle failure (i.e. coming off in your hand) and that it was prone to set back with the higher end loads. Does anyone have any experience wtih this rifle or any other comments?

·
Registered
138 Posts

:D Advocate,I have been collecting and shooting 788s for many years now.I personally have never had any failure problems from them.I find them to be a very accurate low priced rifle.If you are looking to buy one make sure the inside of the barrel is in good condition.Down here in So.Ga. I have been finding them at the gun shows for $300.00 max.These guns are really nice most not being shot much.Good Luck,I am CAL..

·
Registered
213 Posts
In theory, rear lug bolt actions may have these problems, but I have never had trouble with a 788 at all. Or heard of any actual cases of trouble. They realy are a great (but ugly) rifles. Form follows function I guess.

My wife has a 788 in 6mm and I have put some fairly hot 100gr bullet loads through it. I have shot 5 shot groups at 100yds that you can cover with a dime. And it will almost always do it with 3 shots.

With the 30-30 version you can load spirepoints in your cartridges. :idea:

I think a 375/6mm or a 375/308 would be a great wildcat for this gun.

Hud

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The McMillian custom rifle maker did a study of them and there's a web site which discusses the design and manufacturing problems of the 788 in some detail. I' ll list it. Seems that Remington welded the bolt handles on with a lower temperature type of welding than the M-700 and there have been many that failed. I have one with an 18.5" barrel in .308. Has a great trigger pull and is wonderful to handle as well as accurate. I was considering a .358 Winchester either rebore or rebarrel or a 7mm/08 AI with a 23" barrel.