Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which would you prefer and why? I'm interested in one or the other chambered in .30-06. I can pick up either at the local Wallyworld for under $400.00. Any reasons to steer clear of either, or both? :?:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Winchester Black Shadow.

I have a Winchester Model 70 Black Shadow, and while it's definitely not the nicest rifle, I've taken three deer in four years with it. Mine is a 30-06 and it came with a Simmons 3x9 scope. I was a dirt poor college student when I bought and half of the reason I bought it was because it came with a scope. Hindsight being 20/20, I wish I would have waited and bought something a little nicer. But I've had no problems with it whatsoever, and like you said, they're pretty inexpensive. I can't speak for the Remington ADL. Remember one thing about buying guns at Wal-Mart, if it's defective,you're stuck with it. They will not let you return any firearms. Just my two cents.

·
Premium Member
3,717 Posts
Remington ADL Synthetic or Winchester M-70

For the money, it's hard to beat the 700 ADL. In fact, many custom rifle builders use either the BDL or ADL action.

I own several Remington 700s and I love them (although I prefer the Tikkas a bit more because of their better quality).

In any event, I would definately get the 700 ADL over the black shadow.

Zachary

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

B Krumbach- Thanks, I did not know that Walmart does not honor returns on firearms as I have never bought one there before.

Zachary- I've always liked the M-70 style safety better than the Remington safety; and the M-70 Black Shadow has a 24 inch barrel. Otherwise I assumed that the Remington would be at least of same quality or better than the Winchester. The ADL Synthetics I have looked at had better fit and finish than the M-70 Black Shadows I have seen.