Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
5,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this .41 Magnum caliber but the more I read about it the better it becomes. It's a flatter shooting round, more penetration than the 44mag. When pumped up power wise it equals the 44mag. It's a proven winner. Why isn't it more popular than it is?? To me it seems it's gaining in popularity today then when it came out. These 41 Magnum owners seem to come out of the woodwork there's so many. We see guys seeking the s&w m58. Don't get left out on this awesome caliber. Thoughts?

·
Registered
286 Posts
I have 2 41mag guns. a 657-3 hunter classic, scope mounted and a handy rifle. I learned early that hand loading was a must. Commercial ammo was very pricy. I load 210g Berrys Plated bullets with a max load of w296. They both shoot like a lazor. If I had to just keep one caliber, this is it. Pistol scopes on both.

Attachments

·
Registered
104 Posts
Groo here
The 41 is the redheaded stepchild because it came last.
It is the best fit for the N frame smith or the smaller ruger frame. [every hear of one being worn out unlike the 44 mag?]

·
Premium Member
3,887 Posts
I'm a 41 fan and have several including a Marlin. My main reason to start was I needed a bear revolver in the mid 70's when the Dirty Harry fad made 44 mags unaffordable yet the few 41's were still on the shelf. And I'm not a real strong guy with light wrists and smallish hands. I got sick of carrying a 12 ga during work but wanted something.

I've never had to use mine defensively, shot 1 small caribou. Need to get way better before I do any more big game hunting.
Thinking of going on a pig hunt w the marlin.

I have shot a few rabbits with cast bullets - that was fun.

In some ways I'm not sure the 41 really can equal the 44 mag with the 300 gr bullets.