Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the F.A.Q or Handi Basics it talks about pulling the trigger completely through or all the way back. Is this done to prevent light primer hits only? Or is does it have something to do with improving accuracy? If it improves accuracy, please explain how/why. Im also a NOOB, so if you start throwing out terms like "transfer bars" I won't be able to grasp the concept. By the way whats a transfer bar?

·
Premium Member
6,604 Posts
czvz

If you pull the hammer back you will see a small plate that comes up between the hammer and the firing pin , this is the transfer bar , when the hammer hits it and then it hits the firing pin the round is fired .

The trigger must be pulled all the way through to insure that the transfer bar stays in the proper possion when firing , if not you will get erratic primer hits and accuracy will be affected .

Hope this helps .

stimpy

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
Stimpy is correct. I also thinks it helps being consistent. If you pull the trigger the same each time, you get the same results. ;) Same in; same out.

·
Premium Member
5,343 Posts
CZVZ, ever play billiards (pool)? The firing mechanics of a gun with a transfer bar safety system can be likened to putting the 5 ball in the side pocket in billiards. Think of the hammer as the cue stick, the transfer bar as the cue ball, and the 5 ball as the bullet primer. The cue stick (hammer) strikes the cue ball (transfer bar) which transfers it's energy to the 5 ball (bullet primer) your trying to sink.
If you don't hit the cue ball in just the right place with the right amount of force with the cue stick what generally happens to your shot?

Making sure you follow threw on the trigger of a Handi Rifle helps ensure your transfer bar is lined up properly and receives a solid hit from the hammer.

·
Premium Member
952 Posts