Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I had nothing better to do, so I decided to refinish the stock on my 223 bull barrel Handi.

I stripped the factory finish off with stripper and sanded it smooth with 600. Then I "whiskered"
the wood till it was smooth. Then I stained the wood. I let it dry overnight and started laying on the Tru Oil.
I sanded it with 400 in between coats. Somewhere around the 7th or 8th coat the grain began filling in and
the wood really started coming around. I ended up putting about 15 coats on the wood. Call me crazy, but
I prefer the shiny finish the Tru Oil gives vs rubbing it down afterwords with rottonstone or other compounds.
It's not show quality perfect, but it does look way better than the factory finish. It's a hunting rifle after all.

I am no woodworking expert by any means. I have a lot to learn about working with wood. Metal is what
I work with mostly. I'm a machinist. This project wasn't that hard to do. It just takes time, patience, and elbow
grease.

Robert

·
Registered
338 Posts
They look really good, I sold ten ring a set that i refinished with true oil, the grain was not as nice as yours, but they still turned out alot nicer than the factory finish.

·
Registered
6,878 Posts
Nice Job...You did a real good job there...and that is some real interesting grain in the stock...

Mac

·
Registered
6,258 Posts
Very nice job. I like it a lot. I have never worked with Tru oil. Will it always have a gloss? I have never worked with Linseed oil also could someone fill me in on this finish also? Like I said a very nice looking stock. Dale

·
Super Moderator
51,330 Posts
Nice work, Bob!! I've been using Tru-oil for as long as I can remember, great stuff, easy to work with and get great results. ;)

Tim

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
A really nice looking stock ... you should be proud. Tru -oil is good stuff.

bjm

·
Premium Member
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·