Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,068 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been loading 45-70 for my '86 for a couple of years with 405grainers and am happy with them for this rifle. I'm new to Sharps and to casting, and am having a good time with both. I know I probably should order a bunch of different bullets to try before trying to cast a particular bullet for my rifle, but I'm having a good time with casting. So with that in mind, what bullet/mould would you recomend to start with? I would like to start with 480+ and prefer to start with 500 or better, no gas checks.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Bullet moulds

Butler,
Ole pard, first mould is one of the best is the Lyman 475125 the old gov Bullet this always shoots well in any 45-70. Saeco makes a excellent copy of the same bullet and I prefer it to the laymanm its called the 1881. Another excellent bullet is the Lyman 475132 the Postell its a excellent bullet. Any of these 3 will get you off to a excellent start. As you get more comfortable with them you may want to try a Paul Jones Creedmoor but these are a $180 and change with shipping. Or perhaps A Steve Brooks mould ??

Hope this gets you started !
Kenny Wasserburger

·
Registered
104 Posts
BF,

Like many guys in this sport, I started with a Lyman mould, mine was the 457132 Postell. Most of the guys I know that shoot this bullet love it, and I did pretty well with it in my 2.1”.

When my 2.6” arrived I wanted something a little heavier, so I ordered an NEI copy of the PJ Creedmoor bullet, and again this did pretty well too. Unfortunately my Lyman 457132 mould started acting up, so I ordered a NEI Postell copy. This mould cast a pretty bullet and it shot very well in my 2.1” so I was pretty happy. The NEI Moulds were pretty good really, they cast nice bullets that shot well. They were a little finicky as far as bullets sticking, but so was the Lyman and I was used to it.