Graybeard Outdoors banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Premium Member
1,571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New job is finally easing up. I have time and energy at the end of the day. I picked up a beat up 670 rifle at one of the local pawns a while ago. I started working on it last week. I will start adding pics shortly. Project goals are to make my own pillars and bed the action. Rework the stock by adding walnut and ebony spacers. Reconture the stock. Maybe some carving. Don't know about that yet. I am not very good at relief carving. I am also replacing the plastic butt plate with a shoulder friendly recoil pad. Then comes the sight work, trigger work and metal finish work.

Reactions: 336ER

· Premium Member
1,028 Posts
I had one in 243 years ago - it shot damn good. Ordered a classic stock with cheek piece from Bishop for it. Really dressed it up. Look forward to seeing what you do to yours.

Reactions: 8uck5nort

· Premium Member
1,571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Pics as promised:

Well here she be. It was missing the sight hood and rear sight. I believe it had a fixed 4x scope on it when I picked it up.

Air gun Wood Trigger Shotgun Building

It is functional, just needs a little TLC.

Wood Metal Tool Bicycle part Engineering

Air gun Wood Trigger Shotgun Building

· Premium Member
1,571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I use aluminum round stock and chuck it up in my HF mini lathe. I am not a machinist by any stretch of the imagination. But I can make some decent pillars and even a custom trigger guard pillar for the screw just behind the mag well.

Machine tool Gas Engineering Office equipment Machine

Gas Machine tool Wood Machine Engineering

I did get a chip up when I removed the stock metal grommet. I glued it down. Stock is going to be completely sanded down and refinished so in the end you should be able to tell.

Wood Guitar accessory Wood stain Hardwood Musical instrument accessory