Graybeard Outdoors banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone...

I'm new to all this so please go easy on the newbie...

I'm in the planning stages of my first rifle project. It's intended purpose will be for varmints, coyotes and whitetail.... ON A BUDGET. I'd like to stay close to the magical $1000 range. So says the commander in chief. Although I may be able to sneak a couple hundred extra out of my penny jar. ;)

I chose .243 due the laws regarding minimum deer caliber here in Minnesota. I realize there are more suitable varmint calibers, however this will be a "crossover" gun of sorts. A heavy barrel and deer hunting usually don't go hand in hand, but I usually shoot a muzzleloader and IF I do ever rifle hunt, I'll just have to pony up and hump the extra weight.

My preliminary plans are to pick up a 700 VLS model in .243, change the stock over to one from Bell & Carlson, maybe some trigger work and, of course, decent optics. I have a few questions maybe you folks can help me out with...

- Since I'm going to be changing stocks anyway, is it possible to buy just a barreled action from Remington?
- Are there any other methods or accurizing I should be looking into?
- I've found a couple scopes from Mueller that I believe will do the job, what do you personally think of their optics?

This may be my first of many posts regarding my first build, so I beg of you.... Go easy on the new guy. :)

·
Registered
6,258 Posts